South Texas College of Law Nominated for Alexander Hamilton Award for Most Improved Chapter

February 5th, 2015

Congratulations to the South Texas College of Law. Our Federalist Society chapter was nominated for a “Feddie,” the Alexander Hamilton Award for Most Improved Chapter. Every year FedSoc awards a number of awards to the best chapters nationwide. In addition to the Hamilton Award, they give out the James Madison Award for Chapter of the Year, Samuel Adams Award for Membership Growth, and the Thomas Paine Award for Creative Publicity.

This year, the South Texas Chapter hosted a number of fantastic events that were widely attended:

  • Supreme Court Roundup (9/3/14) – Ilya Shapiro (Cato Institute), Rocky Rhodes (STCL), and I held a Supreme Court roundup. We had 65 attendees. Video is available here.
  • Constitution Day (9/15/14) – For our school’s first-ever Constitution Day celebration, we hosted Judge Jennifer Walker Elrod (5th Circuit Court of Appeals) for a discussion with me about the structural provisions of the Constitution.
  • “Immigration Discussion: Unaccompanied Minors & the Administration’s Stance on Addressing the Issue after the Elections” (10/1/14) – We hosted a debate between Dr. James Carafano (Heritage Foundation) and Raed Gonzalez (Gonzalez Olivieri LLC). There event was co-sponsored by the Democratic Society.
  • “Hobby Lobby,” (11/6/14) – Aaaron Streett, Partner at Baker Botts debated Professor Randy Kelso (STCL) about the case.

I have seen tremendous growth in this chapter in my three years at the school. The leadership and membership continue to develop, and we have hosted our best events ever.

The winners will be announced at the Student Symposium at the University of Chicago on 2/21. Good luck to all chapters!