Congratulations to the Top Eight Teams of the Harlan Institute-ConSource OT 2016 Virtual Supreme Court Competition

March 9th, 2017

The Harlan Institute and ConSource are proud to announce the top eight teams that will advance to the next round of the OT 2016 Virtual Supreme Court Competition. We received a record-number of submissions, with the highest caliber yet.

This year, teams of two high school students were randomly assigned to represent either the petitioner or respondent in Trinity Lutheran Church v. Pauley. Below we have linked to the briefs, and embededded the oral argument preliminary rounds. Over the weekend, we will host four rounds of oral arguments over Google Hangout. The top-two scoring teams will advance to the Championship Round in Philadelphia next month. The winning team, and their teacher, will be rewarded with a trip to Washington, D.C. for Constitution Day 2017.

We are very proud of all of the participants. Good luck!


Lucy Mini and Arjun Ahuja (Greenwich High School, Connecticut)

Sarah Kwartler and Anika Todt (Lake Oswego High School, Oregon)

Kate Smitherman and Joanna Boyer (Creekview High School, Texas)

SaraJane Griffiths and Siobhán Nolan (Lake Oswego HS, Oregon)



Mahak Merchant and Simon Pena (Creekview HS, Texas)

Jacklin Chang Emma Austin  (Lake Oswego HS, Oregon)

Riley Tribble and John Fregonara (Elkins HS, West Virginia)

Grace Reily-Simmons and Tyanin Opdahl (Lake Oswego, HS)

The Playlist